University Leadership

University Leadership

Innovation derives from collaboration and the exchange of ideas. At Clarkson, we recognize the importance of strong connections that matter for building a sense of community, driving discoveries and ensuring a world-relevant technological education with a phenomenal return on investment for our students.  


We are governed by a Board of Trustees and shared governance, and led by the President, who is also a member of the Board, and by the President’s Executive Council and Clarkson Leadership Council.  Together, with the Clarkson community, we continue to advance the mission, vision and values of the University. 

President Marc P. Christensen, Ph.D. P.E.

The Clarkson University Board of Trustees appointed Marc P. Christensen, Ph.D. P.E. to serve as the 17th President of Clarkson University, effective July 1, 2022.  

President Christensen's passion for innovative teaching, collaborative multidisciplinary research, proven entrepreneurship, successful fundraising and community outreach are in excellent alignment with Clarkson's active community of faculty, staff, students and alumni.

A well-regarded leader in photonics research and technology development, he most recently served as the dean of the Lyle School of Engineering at Southern Methodist University (SMU) in Dallas, Texas.  

Learn More about President Christensen

President's Executive Council

  • Jennifer Ball
    Professor of History & Social Documentation / Vice President for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Access
  • Carrie Capella
    Assistant to the President
  • Kelly Chezum
    Vice President for External Relations | Assistant Secretary of the Board of Trustees 
  • Matthew Draper
    Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations
  • Debra Drescher
    Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel
  • Joshua Fiske
    Vice President for Information Technology
  • Jeffrey Ives
    Vice President of Financial Affairs

Clarkson Leadership Council

The Clarkson Leadership Council is inclusive of the President's Executive Council,  and the heads of academic schools, institutes and safety.  

  • Erica Arnold
    Environmental Health & Safety Manager / Radiation Safety Officer / Emergency Response Manager
  • Bebonchu Atems
    Interim Dean of David D. Reh School of Business
  • Alexander Cohen
    Chair of the Faculty Senate / Associate Professor of Political Science
  • Michelle Crimi
    Dean of the Graduate School / Interim Vice Provost for Research & Technology Transfer / Professor of Environmental Engineering 
  • William Jemsion
    Dean of the Wallace H. Coulter School of Engineering / Collins Professor of Innovative Engineering Culture
  • Lennart Johns
    Founding Dean of the Earl R. & Barbara D. Lewis School of Health Sciences
  • Kathleen Kavanagh
    Director of the Institute for STEM Education / Robert A. Plane Endowed Professor of Mathematics
  • Susan Powers
    Director of the Institute for a Sustainable Environment / Jean '79 and Robert '79 Spence Professorship in Sustainable Environmental Systems 
  • Michelle Young
    Dean of Libraries

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the University Corporation, managing its affairs and granting and conferring such academic degrees and honors as are permitted by the Regents of the State of New York and specifically authorized by its charter.

Board Officers
•  Thomas L. Kassouf '74, Chair​​​​​​
•  Marc P. Christensen, Ph.D., P.E.,  Clarkson University President
•  Nancy D. Reyda '81, Vice Chair
•  Bayard D. Clarkson, Sr. H'74, Distinguished Vice Chair
•  Lauretta M. Chrys UGC '98, Secretary
•  Kelly O. Chezum '04, Assistant Secretary
•  Jeffrey Ives, Vice President for Financial Affairs & Treasurer 

To Contact the Board of Trustees, please write or call in care of:
Dr. Kelly O. Chezum, Vice President for External Relations & Assistant Secretary of the Board of Trustees
Clarkson University
8 Clarkson Avenue, Box 5500, Potsdam, New York 13699
Phone: 315-268-4483

Anthony B. Bouchard '85
President and Chief Operating Officer
CDM Smith, Inc.

Kathryn E. Campbell '03
Vice President/Head of US Product Strategy & Development
Franklin Templeton Companies, LLC

Simoon L. Cannon '97
President and Founder
Melanina Organics LLC

Thomas G. Capek P'15
Senior Vice President & Chief Engineer
Corning Incorporated

Amy E. Castronova '04
Leadership Alchemy

Marc P. Christensen, Ph.D., P.E.
Clarkson University

Lauretta M. Chrys UGC '98
Executive Vice President & COO (Ret.)
Citizens Bank

Bayard D. Clarkson Sr., M.D. H'74
Member, Molecular Pharmacology/Chemistry
Sloan - Kettering Institute

Kathleen H. Cline '85 
KTC Construction

Karel K. Czanderna '77
President & CEO (Ret.)
Flexsteel Industries Inc.

Peter J. Devlin '80
President & CEO (Ret.)
Fish & Richardson, PC

Christina A. Dutch ’91
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

David K. Heacock '83
Senior Vice President & Manager (Ret.)
Texas Instruments Silicon Valley Analog

Thomas L. Kassouf '74
President (Ret.)
Snap-on-Tools Group

Sanjeev R. Kulkarni '84  
Professor, Electrical Engineering
Princeton University

Kenneth S. Lally '79
SimuTech Group

Earl R. Lewis '66
Chairman of the Board (Ret.)
Flir Systems Inc.

G. Michael Maresca P'18
Interventional & General Radiologist
St. Lawrence Radiology

John S. Mengucci '84
President and Chief Executive Officer
CACI International Inc.

Rajan Raghavan '82
Founder, President & CEO
The Fabric Net

Nancy D. Reyda ‘81
Managing Director & COO (Retired)
Bank of New York Mellon

Jean E. Spence '79
Executive Vice President (Ret.)
Mondelēz International, Inc.  

David A. Walsh '67
Executive Vice President and COO (Ret.)
United Therapeutics

James F. Wood '64
Director, Energy Institute (Ret.)
Director, U.S. - China Clean Energy Research Center, Advanced Coal Technology Consortium
West Virginia University

Robert R. Ziek, Jr. '78 
ZSource, Ltd. 

CTA Block